RSS

November 7, 2012

07 Nov

Between a nasty illness and a regular work week (and elections) I’ve only managed a bit of work each day. However, the skinning is almost done. I’m satisfied with everything except the neck, which is such a major irritation. All it would take is the insertion of one bone and it would work really well. But we don’t have that ability, and while I could be satisfied with some nice detailed motion of the upper part of the neck, I want the avatar to be able to graze and that takes more extreme motion. I’ve tried a couple of different patterns and I’m not satisfied yet, so that’s the last skinning thing that I’m fiddling with before I upload and test.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 7, 2012 in Work Log

 

2 responses to “November 7, 2012

  1. marmaladepippi

    November 11, 2012 at 10:33 am

    i have a friesan which bought from you a long time ago. Will the new one be very diffferent?

     
  2. Fiona Branagh

    November 12, 2012 at 8:01 am

    That’s hard to say at this stage, because a lot of what happens will be based on what mesh can and cannot do. As always, I’m learning how SL does things as I go, because it’s always its own little world that changes over time, and I’ve been gone a while. My main goals are to improve appearance, make a solid movement system that doesn’t tend to break down badly in lag, and make it easier to add extras such as saddles and customizations. Once I finish the avatar version of the friesian, I’ll have to tackle the riding issues and figure out the best way to approach it. I’ll definitely keep you all posted here!

     

Leave a Reply

 
