RSS

March 11, 2013

11 Mar

Naturally, I’ve been fiddling with Avastar pretty heavily in the last couple of days. I decided to start with the option of rerigging my mesh in Avastar, which I seem to be doing all right with. The only problem that I see is that the ear animation probably won’t work the way I could get it to work in Maya, so if that’s the case, I’ll make the eyebones back into eyes and make attachable ears that just move via script.

I’ve got to the point where I am uploading and testing the avatar in SL again, using Avastar’s method. It’s nice in that I can upload an .anim, and set it to a higher priority than 4 (very useful for non-human geometry, so other animations don’t break through and make things look really wonky.) I don’t know everything the Blender animation system does yet, so hopefully it will let me do different priorities on different bones like I’ve heard .anim files can support.

The main thing I noticed is that I was able to build the mesh around a male default shape, which is something that was annoying me before. This is good. However, when I wear the avatar in SL, the shape is slightly off. I have a feeling it has something to do with the custom¬†sliders, so I’ll find out what the issue is there by fiddling around.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 11, 2013 in Work Log

 

2 responses to “March 11, 2013

  1. Fiona Branagh

    March 12, 2013 at 10:36 am

    While fiddling with the sliders helped some, it wasn’t intuitive (it doesn’t perfectly match the figure in Avastar that the rigging is supposedly based upon), and it’s still not quite right. I am testing to see if animations are warping anything, but I may need to rerig to the female Ruth proportions and see if it’s more accurate. It won’t take long if I have to do that, but I WOULD like people to be able to select the actual sex of their avatar because that is more intuitive for the wearer.

     
  2. Fiona Branagh

    March 13, 2013 at 2:03 pm

    So today, everything looks fine.

    You tell me.

    On the one hand, it’s great that the problem is ‘fixed’. On the other, I can’t stand not knowing what a problem was and what a solution was. Thus, I have nothing to offer a fellow traveler by way of advice other than, “Go to bed, wake up, and restart your programs.”

    Ah well.

     

Leave a Reply

 
