RSS

December 10, 2014

10 Dec

Sometimes I hate to post about what I’m working on because it could just fail utterly and then it seems a waste to get people’s hopes up. But I figure, that’s what this blog is for. It’s the process, warts and all.

Currently I am working on reskinning. I think so far it looks FAR better than my old version, and moves very well. The main bones look great, so now I am working on expressions, eyeblinks, eyes, and ears.

There are a lot of ways to go about these things so I’m going to try some and see what happens. If they don’t work, I’ll go back to another method. For example, some things can be rigged to attachment points or extra bones. Some things can be worn as attachments and animated. So far, for the ears, I think I am doing them as attachments because I’ve never been happy with the range of motion the extra bones give (or really, don’t give) the ears. I think they will be much more expressive animated separately and fully as their own objects.

Eyes, I’m just rigging to the eyebones. Eyelashes may end up being attached or rigged. I kind of like the attachment idea though, because anything that is rigged is going to have to be moved through avatar animations. Great, right? Not when a bunch of them are stacking up, and things like blinking and ear twitches would be a lot of animation calls. I suspect it’s going to keep things a lot cleaner if I can separate those out.

We shall see!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 10, 2014 in Work Log

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “December 10, 2014

  1. Ronja Savage

    December 14, 2014 at 4:16 pm

    Not easy to work with Mesh but if i see the result on your sim or the Pic here that is more than worth.and for me is the fresian the most beautiful Horse on the World…In RL if you on his back you feel like in a Rocket chair..:) Good luck for your work greets from germay Ronja

     
  2. Fiona Branagh

    December 15, 2014 at 10:51 am

    Thanks so much Ronja! The accuracy and essence of the breed is really important to me.

     

Leave a Reply

 
