RSS

January, Saturday 31

31 Jan

I’ve been plugging along and forgetting to blog about it.

Anyway, eyes are reshaped and textured and work pretty well. Not perfectly – when they move, they don’t always sit in the eye socket the way they should, but that has a lot to do with the trickiness of Second Life. I can get them to look fine in say, 3DS Max. I don’t think I care though – they’re good 98% of the time in and SL you often have to shoot for that general impression of correctness.

The mane crest was redone also, looking good. I suggest to anyone making a mane for this avatar with flexies, to attach the middle parts to the crest and then wear the crest on the neck; wear the front parts and forelock on the head, and the back parts on the chest. They should overlap well when the neck moves. Just fiddle with the parts so they don’t stick out too badly most of the time.

Back to doing animations again. I had a little sort of flicker-glitch that happened with my recent animations, and I came to realize it was some kind of error with the IK’s, for those of you who run into this. There’s probably a way to flat out fix it, but I just did a quick workaround where I just export the animations directly from the blue SL bones instead of from the green pose bones. I’ll care more about getting to the bottom of it another time.

So, now I just need to do all the animations, and then I’ll work more on the AO.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 31, 2015 in Work Log

 

6 responses to “January, Saturday 31

  1. Morgaana

    February 4, 2015 at 10:47 pm

    Hello Fiona, Thank you for doing such wonderful work on all your beautiful horses. I am a long time fan of your work and own the Sport Horse, Unicorn and Fresian Stallion. I am hoping to have a saddle one day after I get the updates on my horses. Simply the best in SL! Hope to stop by the barn soon and say hi in person. I am at your SIM now and it looks just as I remember it. Thanx again.

     
    • Fiona Branagh

      February 13, 2015 at 7:52 am

      Thank you Morgaana! I appreciate your patience with me on these projects. Life sure slowed me down for a bit, but I’m working hard on making new things for everyone. I hope to see you at the Weald.

       
  2. Morgaana

    February 11, 2015 at 4:38 pm

    Just brough a bunch of people to see the horses on your SIM and they all LOVED them. Amanda (mandigyrl) will be buying one for her birthday! The Fresian. What is the differnce with the 2 Fresian Stallions you offer…one looks bigger. Have a lovely evening. My name is Morgaana Gould is world. BTW

     
    • Fiona Branagh

      February 13, 2015 at 7:55 am

      There should just be the one Friesian stallion right now.. there’s also the mare of course, and then the one I’m working on currently for an avatar. I also have a plan to turn the new model into a riding model but it’s going to take some trickiness due to the issues of using a mesh object as an unrigged item. Thanks for bringing folks by the barn!

       
  3. Ronja Savage

    February 15, 2015 at 10:49 am

    The new frisian as riding Model would be great cant wait if it is finsh..Send you som greetings from the SL Front..Hug Ronja Savage

     
    • Fiona Branagh

      February 15, 2015 at 12:18 pm

      Thanks Ronja! I agree, it will be really fun if I can make it work – it’s definitely next on the list.

       

Leave a Reply

 
