RSS

February 27, 2015

27 Feb

As I was building the shape I wanted to use for the tail root (the part that all the flexis get attached to), I got a bug to make it BETTER. Not just a better shape, but better performance. So I’m experimenting today with ways to animate it through rigging, as well as making a custom texture for it so it flows seamlessly into the pelvis.

One thing people are going to have to understand with my design on this tail – it’s a Friesian tail, not an Arabian tail. That means it is held low and close to the haunches most of the time – that’s part of the breed characteristic. It’s not designed to be constantly flared out, though hopefully, I will be able to make it do that at the proper times.

The wrong tail shape is a common problem I see in SL when people try to represent specific breeds. They aren’t generic.

I’ll update with some pictures once I get it done.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 27, 2015 in Work Log

 

Leave a Reply

 
