RSS

Updates (August 28, 2016)

28 Aug

There was a lot of waiting on errors in Bento and in Avastar, and still is. Currently I’m waiting on a fix to the facial deformations going on because it looks like something I have no control over.

In the meantime, I am working on the other project I may have mentioned – it’s the riding version. I’ve seen some other folks doing their riding versions that will likely be similar to mine so the secret is not really a secret anymore and that’s fine!

This requires adapting the bento skeleton to both the avatar doing the riding, and the horse. The extra bones make this easier but by no means simple. One of the big issues is a real lack of attachment points to distribute to the horse. I am working on the best solutions to that.

I suspect this will be done before the avatar because I won’t have to worry about mucking around with the face or other tricky avatar issues; I mainly just have to get the horse to move in a simple but effective manner for riding purposes without extra layers of emoting.

The main trick, like I said, will be dealing with attachments and experimenting with the interface to put it on, take it off, control, etc.

At least this, I feel like I can just get to work and not wait endlessly for fixes. No insult meant to SL or Avastar; they are doing great work, it just takes time.

 

I might eventually move this over to Facebook. I have a tendency to forget to check blogs, and I already have to check FB for a lot of other things. We shall see. So if I miss your comment, my apologies! I’m bad at seeing them.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 28, 2016 in General Announcements

 

2 responses to “Updates (August 28, 2016)

  1. Aztek

    December 31, 2016 at 7:30 am

    I am so happy to see you are still planning on bringing your creations into SL!

     
    • Fiona Branagh

      December 31, 2016 at 9:12 am

      Wish I could be doing it faster and sooner – every time I think I have time to really plow into it, work escalates or some crazy thing happens in life. It’s rather embarrassing how long this has taken and how many times I’ve had to redo the same work when SL changes something!

       

Leave a Reply

 
